Ketchikan Duck Tours
from $79 per person
Ketchikan Duck Boat Cruise Tour
- Length
- 90 minutes (45 on land, 45 on water)
- Age
- All ages
No back-to-ship policy stated
Coast Guard certified amphibious vehicle
Ships berth at four downtown piers or at Ward Cove, about 5.5 miles out, from April to early October. Misty Fjords floatplane flights start at $329, and bear viewing by floatplane at $495.
Put in your ship's arrival and all-aboard times from your cruise planner. Each tour is checked against the time you have, minus the buffer you choose for getting off the ship and back to the pier.
Example times are filled in. Your cruise line's daily planner has the real ones, and a tender port needs more buffer.
| Operator | What you get | From | Length | Group | Min age | Back-to-ship | Cancellation | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ketchikan Duck Boat Cruise TourIncludes Narrated land and water tour, Creek Street, salmon ladder, hatchery and harbor sights |
$79 per person |
90 minutes (45 on land, 45 on water) |
All ages | Not stated | Check dates | |||
Eagle Island KayakIncludes Tandem kayak, Safety briefing, Guided paddle to Eagle Island, Transport to and from the cruise pier |
$115 per person |
About 210 minutes |
Not stated | Full refund up to 7 days before; full refund if you miss the cruise or the ship does not reach port. | Check dates | |||
Zipline Adventure ParkIncludes Eight ziplines and eight aerial traverses, Guides, Safety equipment, Round-trip transport from the cruise pier |
$150 per person |
About 210 minutes |
Under 18 must be accompanied by an adult | Not stated | Full refund up to 7 days before; full refund if you miss the cruise or the ship does not reach port. | Check dates | ||
Orca Cove Kayak & Boat TourIncludes Fast boat ride (about 20 minutes), Sea kayaking, Smoked salmon and snacks, Hot beverages and Alaskan beer, Dry bags |
$179 per person |
3 hours, including 1.5 to 1.75 hours kayaking |
Maximum 6 guests |
5+ | No guarantee stated; operator says no one has ever missed a cruise departure | Full refund if cancelled more than 14 days out; non-refundable within 14 days; full refund if ship schedule changes cause a missed tour. | Check dates | |
Alaska Boatman AdventureIncludes Drive your own boat following a guide, Transport from the cruise piers |
$179 per adult |
About 210 minutes (three-hour guided tour) |
4 per 14-foot Zodiac-style boat, 850 lb boat limit |
5+ | Not stated | Full refund up to 7 days before; full refund if you miss the cruise or the ship does not reach port. | Check dates | |
Misty Fjords Flightseeing |
$329 per person |
About 1.75 hours including check-in; 60-minute flight |
Not stated | Listed as free cancellation. | Check dates | |||
Misty Fjords Flightseeing TourIncludes Floatplane flight over Misty Fjords, About 30-minute landing on a lake or bay, Ground transportation, Two-way headsets |
$395 per person |
2 hours plus about 15 minutes transfer each end; budget 2.5 hours |
Not stated | 50% deposit to reserve; refund if weather prevents the flight. | Check dates | |||
Traitors Cove Bear Viewing Observatory TourIncludes Floatplane flight (about 30 minutes each way), Short van ride and boardwalk hike, Three hours at Traitors Cove, Bear guide, Ground transportation |
$495 per person |
4 hours (budget 4.5 hours) |
Not stated | 50% deposit to reserve; refund if weather prevents the flight. | Check dates | |||
Misty Fjords and Glacier Combination TourIncludes Misty Fjords and glacier flight, About 30-minute landing, Ground transportation |
$550 per person |
2.5 hours plus transfer; budget 3 hours |
5-person minimum |
Not stated | 50% deposit to reserve; refund if weather prevents the flight. | Check dates | ||
Anan Creek Bear Viewing Observatory TourIncludes Floatplane flight (about 45 minutes each way), Ranger briefing, Half-mile trail to viewing platform and photo blind, 3.5 hours at the observatory, Bear guide, Ground transportation |
$850 per person |
5 hours (budget 5.5 hours) |
Not stated | 50% deposit to reserve; refund if weather prevents the flight. | Check dates |
From each operator's own website, checked October 22, 2026. How we compare.
The City of Ketchikan's port has four Panamax-sized berths, numbered from south to north along the downtown waterfront. Each berth has at least one float beside it, among them the Daly Float at Berth I and the Ryus Float at Berth II. Cruise Line Agencies of Alaska's codes show ships at anchor tendering passengers to the Daly Float, the Ryus Float and a Berth 3 float. Visit Ketchikan adds Doyon Landing, used mostly by smaller overnight ships, and Ward Cove, a single pier usable on both sides about 5.5 miles from downtown.
In the 2026 schedule, the Ward Cove codes appear mostly on Norwegian ships and Seven Seas Explorer, though Ovation of the Seas was also listed there on May 31. Check your dock before booking. Island Wings, Southeast Exposure and Southeast Sea Kayaks pick up or board at the downtown docks, and Island Wings asks guests at Ward Cove or the NCL terminal to call its office. Taquan Air's terminal is at 4085 Tongass Avenue, and its Misty Fjords fare does not include transport.
Downtown pickups gather around Berth 2, where Visit Ketchikan has its Visitors Center and tour kiosks stand on the docks. Island Wings meets at the Liquid Sunshine Gauge beside The Rock statue, in front of the center, and Southeast Exposure's vans also collect guests at The Rock. Island Wings calls its floatplane dock a five-minute walk from Berths 1 to 3 and "a thirty second walk or swim" from Berth 4. Its van picks up 10 to 15 minutes before each flight.
Visit Ketchikan says a port visit may run "four or eight hours", and the 2026 schedule from Cruise Line Agencies of Alaska shows that spread. Royal Princess was listed at Berth 4 from 7:00 am to 1:15 pm on May 14, and Disney Magic at Berth 1 from 2:00 pm to 7:00 pm on June 2. Anthem of the Seas had 9 hours at Berth 2 on May 27. The shortest call was Seven Seas Explorer's 4.5 hours on August 10, and Azamara Pursuit's 7:30 am to 10:00 pm calls were the longest.
The 2026 season ran from about April 21, when Noordam was listed at Berth 2, to October 9, when Norwegian Encore made the last call. Ketchikan keeps Alaska time, one hour behind Pacific time. Visit Ketchikan warns that berth assignments sometimes change at the last minute and points passengers to its cruise calendar, and the city publishes its own 2026 berthing calendar, last updated April 3, 2026.
None of the five Ketchikan operators listed here publishes a back-to-ship guarantee. Southeast Sea Kayaks states no guarantee but says no guest has ever missed a cruise departure. Island Wings asks guests to budget 2.5 hours for its 2-hour Misty Fjords flight once transfers are counted, and 4.5 hours for the 4-hour Traitors Cove bear trip. Taquan Air puts its 60-minute flight at about 1.75 hours with check-in, not counting the ride to its terminal.
Floatplane flights over Misty Fiords National Monument are the big-ticket trip. Taquan Air listed its 60-minute flight at $329 as a promotion (regular $369), with a $168 surcharge for guests of 250 pounds or more. Island Wings charges $395 for a 2-hour trip that includes a landing of about 30 minutes on a lake or bay. Its Misty Fjords and glacier combination costs $550 and needs five passengers to run.
Bear viewing means a longer flight and a short season. Island Wings flies to the Traitors Cove observatory from July 20 to September 30 for $495, about 4 hours with three of them on site. Anan Creek costs $850 for about 5 hours and runs July 1 to mid-August under Forest Service permits, of which Island Wings gets 80 a year. Taquan Air sells its bear trips on board select cruise lines rather than online.
Closer to town, most half-day trips run 3 to 3.5 hours with transport. Southeast Exposure's Eagle Island kayak paddle from Clover Pass is $115, its zipline park at Knudson Cove (about 25 minutes' drive) is $150, and its drive-your-own-boat tour is $179. Southeast Sea Kayaks' Orca Cove trip ($179, 3 hours) adds a 20-minute fast-boat ride to the paddle. Ketchikan Duck Tours' 90-minute amphibious tour, half on land and half on water, is $79.
Southeast Exposure collects guests at the cruise piers and drives them to Clover Pass or Knudson Cove, and Island Wings includes the van ride in every fare. Southeast Sea Kayaks boards right at the downtown docks and says its tours are not sold on board cruise ships. Taquan Air expects guests at its own terminal on Tongass Avenue, with no transport included. Guests at Ward Cove have to arrange the ride by phone with Island Wings.
Southeast Exposure refunds in full up to 7 days out, and also if you miss the cruise or the ship never reaches port. Southeast Sea Kayaks takes full payment at booking and keeps it inside 14 days, but refunds in full when a ship schedule change causes a missed tour. Island Wings takes a 50% deposit and refunds when weather grounds the flight, still meeting guests on the dock that day. Taquan lists free cancellation without giving the terms.
Southeast Sea Kayaks caps Orca Cove at six guests, ages 5 and up. Southeast Exposure's self-drive Zodiac-style boats carry four, with an 850-pound limit per boat, and under-18s on its zipline must come with an adult. Island Wings' glacier combination flies only with five passengers, and if cloud hides the glacier it flies and charges for Misty Fjords alone. Ketchikan Duck Tours runs a Coast Guard certified amphibious vehicle and takes all ages.
from $79 per person
Ketchikan Duck Boat Cruise Tour
No back-to-ship policy stated
Coast Guard certified amphibious vehicle
from $115 per person
Eagle Island Kayak and 2 more options
No back-to-ship policy stated
Family owned and operated since 1986
from $179 per person
Orca Cove Kayak & Boat Tour
Back to ship: No guarantee stated; operator says no one has ever missed a cruise departure
Tours are not sold onboard cruise ships
from $329 per person
Misty Fjords Flightseeing
No back-to-ship policy stated
DeHavilland Beaver or Otter floatplanes
from $395 per person
Misty Fjords Flightseeing Tour and 3 more options
No back-to-ship policy stated
Floatplane dock about a 5-minute walk from Berths 1-3 and very close to Berth 4
Prices and policies come from each operator's own pages, read on October 22, 2026. Seasons, rules and local details come from the pages below.