Doctor's Cave Bathing Club
from $8 per adult
General admission (Doctor's Cave Beach)
- Length
- Open Monday to Sunday, 8:30 am to 5:30 pm
No back-to-ship policy stated
Beach admission run by the Doctor's Cave Bathing Club, not a guided tour
Ships berth at Montego Freeport, a fixed $5 JUTA taxi from downtown, and local options run from $8 beach entry to Chukka's $149 Dunn's River day. All four main Jamaican cruise ports reopened by December 2025.
| Operator | What you get | From | Length | Group | Min age | Back-to-ship | Cancellation | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
General admission (Doctor's Cave Beach) |
$8 per adult |
Open Monday to Sunday, 8:30 am to 5:30 pm |
Not stated | Check dates | ||||
Rose Hall Great House & Garden TourIncludes Guided tour of the great house, Historical museum, 18th-century graveyard, Tour scripts in ten languages (tours conducted in English) |
$30 per adult |
About 45 minutes to 1 hour, not including travel |
Not stated | Check dates | ||||
Lethe Village Bamboo Rafting & Cultural ExperienceIncludes Bamboo raft ride, Limestone foot rub, Prosecco on the raft, Duckunoo tasting, Free pickup and drop-off from Montego Bay and Negril |
$109 per person |
Not stated | Check dates | |||||
Great River Tubing AdventureIncludes River tubing on the Great River, Swim stop, Rum punch, Free pickup and drop-off from Montego Bay and Negril |
$109 per person |
Not stated | Check dates | |||||
Montego Bay to Dunn's River Falls: Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & ClimbIncludes Catamaran sail, Snorkel stop, Dunn's River Falls climb, Free pickup from Montego Bay |
$149 per person |
Not stated | Check dates |
From each operator's own website, checked October 22, 2026. How we compare.
Ships tie up at the Port of Montego Bay, one of five cruise ports the Port Authority of Jamaica operates, on the Freeport peninsula west of town. Cruise Hive (June 2024) counts four berths, enough for four full-sized ships, and says more than three in port is rare. Neither it nor Cruise Critic mentions tendering. The single terminal building has a Jamaica Tourist Board kiosk, a duty-free shop, lockers and air-conditioned waiting areas, and no ATM. Cruise Hive gives the address as F366 Mantica Way.
Downtown is just under 3 miles east of the terminal by Cruise Hive's measure, and Doctor's Cave Beach and the Hip Strip are a little over 3 miles away. Cruise Critic puts the walk into town at 20 minutes beside a busy two-lane road and suggests a taxi. Licensed taxis carry JUTA stickers, wait in a marked loop outside the port and charge a fixed $5 to downtown. Rates to Falmouth and Dunn's River Falls are posted inside the terminal. The Hot Spots Shuttle sells a $15 all-day pass inside the port, stopping at the Harbour Street Craft Market, the Yacht Club and the Hip Strip.
None of the three operators listed here names a pier meeting point. Chukka's Lethe Village pages offer free pickup from the Montego Bay and Negril regions and return guests to their original pickup point; cruise passengers are pointed to a separate shore excursions page. Rose Hall Great House, on the Elegant Corridor in Rose Hall, St. James, says it does not offer transportation. Doctor's Cave Bathing Club is on Jimmy Cliff Boulevard, on the Hip Strip shuttle route.
Jamaica keeps UTC minus 5 all year and has not changed its clocks since 1983. In winter that matches US Eastern Standard Time; in summer it is level with Central Daylight Time, an hour behind Florida. Check whether the ship's all-aboard is in ship time or local time. No port authority schedule with call lengths was found for Montego Bay; the Port Authority's cruise page lists no times.
Distance sets the limit on what fits. Cruise Critic puts Dunn's River Falls about 90 minutes from the port by road. Chukka's Montego Bay to Dunn's River Falls day therefore spends about 3 hours on the bus around the sail, snorkel and climb. Chukka lists no durations on its Montego Bay tour pages, only Full-Day and Half-Day filters. Rose Hall's house tour takes 45 minutes to an hour, not counting travel, and runs Monday to Saturday from 9:15 am to 4 pm, closed Sundays and public holidays. Doctor's Cave Beach opens daily from 8:30 am to 5:30 pm.
None of the three publishes a back-to-ship promise or a refund for a missed port. Chukka says water tours depend on weather and may be suspended on rare occasions. Its refunds page is a request form asking for the booking number and a reason, with no deadlines stated. Rose Hall runs tours only when weather permits. Hurricane Melissa made landfall in Westmoreland on October 28, 2025 as a Category 5 storm and flooded much of Montego Bay, including the port. TUI Cruises' Mein Schiff 1 made the first call back about four weeks later, and Cruise Industry News reported all four main ports open on December 10, 2025.
Chukka's Lethe Village Bamboo Rafting & Cultural Experience costs US$109 per person for a bamboo raft ride on the Great River with a limestone foot rub and prosecco aboard. On land there is a talk on the banana plant and a duckunoo tasting in the gardens. Rafts take 300 lbs per person or 550 lbs for two, and the minimum age is 6. Chukka's Great River Tubing Adventure is also US$109 with a swim stop and rum punch. Booking 14 or more days ahead takes 25% off, rising to 50% at 105 days, with the EARLYBIRD code applied in the cart.
Chukka's Montego Bay to Dunn's River Falls: Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Climb starts at US$149. The price covers transfers from the Montego Bay region, a reef snorkel, a sail to the foot of the falls, the climb, rum punch and a Jamaican lunch. Riders must be 6 or older and under 275 lbs, closed-toe shoes are mandatory and the trip is not for pregnant guests. Dunn's River Falls and Park, run by the Urban Development Corporation, reopened on November 11, 2025 after post-hurricane safety checks and debris removal, the Gleaner reported. Harmony Beach Park in Montego Bay reopened the same day, at first from 8 am to 6 pm.
Rose Hall Great House charges $30 per adult and $12 for ages 4 to 11, with children 2 and under free, for a guided walk through the house, its museum and an 18th-century graveyard. No photos or video are allowed inside, and the house is not wheelchair accessible. Its Haunted Night Tour is $35 for adults, Wednesday to Saturday from 6:30 pm, by reservation. Doctor's Cave Beach lists admission at $8 for ages 12 and over and $4 for younger children. As of October 22, 2026, none of the Chukka, Rose Hall or Doctor's Cave pages carried a hurricane or closure notice.
Chukka is the only one of the three with transport. Pickup is free from the Montego Bay and Negril regions for the Lethe Village tours and from the Montego Bay region for the Dunn's River day, with drop-off back at the pickup point. Its pages name no cruise pier and send cruise passengers to a separate shore excursions page. Every guest must show valid picture ID at check-in, and the drinking age for the prosecco and rum punch is 18. Lockers and aqua shoes are sold at Lethe. Chukka publishes no cancellation deadline on these pages; refunds start with its online Refund Request Form.
Rose Hall Great House is a stop rather than a tour, and it does not offer transportation, so the cost is the $30 ticket plus a taxi. Reservations are needed for groups of more than 15 and for every night tour. The house advises against the tour for anyone with back problems or recent back surgery, and Jamaican residents pay less with valid ID. Its FAQ quotes a child price of $10 for ages 12 and under against $12 for ages 4 to 11 in the tour listing, so ask at admissions.
Doctor's Cave Bathing Club sells no tickets online; its page lists a customer service line, +1 876-952-2566, and the beach opens every day from 8:30 am to 5:30 pm. The page body gives $8 and $4 while its meta description still shows $6 and $3, and neither names the currency. None of the three states a back-to-ship guarantee, a group size or a refund if the ship skips Montego Bay, so passengers on a short call carry that risk themselves.
from $8 per adult
General admission (Doctor's Cave Beach)
No back-to-ship policy stated
Beach admission run by the Doctor's Cave Bathing Club, not a guided tour
from $30 per adult
Rose Hall Great House & Garden Tour
No back-to-ship policy stated
Day tours run Monday to Saturday, 9:15 am to 4:00 pm; closed Sundays and public holidays
from $109 per person
Lethe Village Bamboo Rafting & Cultural Experience and 2 more options
No back-to-ship policy stated
Lethe Village tours include local storytelling and countryside views, per the tour page
Prices and policies come from each operator's own pages, read on October 22, 2026. Seasons, rules and local details come from the pages below.